New political map for Epsom & Ewell Borough Council


Tuesday, 1 March, 2022

A map showing the new wards for Epsom and ewell

Epsom and Ewell is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.

The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Epsom and Ewell to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.  

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes Epsom & Ewell Borough Council. It says residents should be represented by 35 councillors.

This is three fewer than current arrangements.

There will be 14 wards; seven two-councillor wards, and seven three-councillor wards. This is one ward more than there are now.

Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are very grateful to people in Epsom and Ewell. We looked at all the views they
gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.  

“We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.”   

A total of 91 submissions from local residents and organisations helped decide the new wards.

Changes in response to what local people said include:
• Changes to the boundary between Court and West Ewell and Court and Horton wards on the basis of submissions received
• Renaming Woodcote ward to Woodcote & Langley Vale on the basis of submissions received

The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals.

Details can be  found on its website at

Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2023 council elections. 


Map credit: contains Ordnance Survey data (c) Crown copyright and database rights 2022