## LIST OF COUNTRIES WHOSE CITIZENS ARE ELIGIBLE TO VOTE

United Kingdom - including England, Scotland, Wales, The Channel Isles, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland. Also the Irish Republic - Southern Ireland/Eire. Can vote at **all** types of elections.

## **COMMONWEALTH COUNTRIES**

Antigua and Barbuda Jamaica St Vincent and the

Australia Kenva Grenadines The Bahamas Kiribati Samoa Bangladesh Lesotho Seychelles Barbados Sierra Leone Malawi Singapore Belize Malaysia Solomon Islands Malta Botswana Brunei Darussalam Mauritius South Africa

Brunei Darussalam Mauritius South Afric Cameroon Mozambique Sri Lanka Canada Namibia Swaziland

Cyprus Nauru Tanzania (United Republic of)

Dominica New Zealand Tonga

Fiji Islands Nigeria Trinidad and Tobago

The Gambia Pakistan Tuvalu
Ghana Papua New Guinea Uganda
Grenada Rwanda Vanuatu
Guyana St Kitts and Nevis Zambia
India St Lucia Zimbabwe

## **BRITISH DEPENDANT TERRITORIES**

Anguilla Monserrat
Bermuda Pitcairn Island
British Antarctic Territory St Helena

British Indian Ocean Territory

St Helena dependencies (Ascension, Tristan da Cunha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich

Cayman Islands Islands)

Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands

Gibraltar

## **EUROPEAN UNION COUNTRIES**

Citizens of the European Union can vote at Local elections and European Parliamentary elections only.

Austria Estonia Latvia Romania Belgium Finland Lithuania Slovakia Bulgaria Luxembourg France Slovenia Croatia Germany \*Malta Spain Czech Republic Sweden Greece Netherlands

\*Cyprus Hungary Poland Denmark Italy Portugal

Citizens of the European Union are entitled to register to vote at local government elections in the UK despite the fact that the UK is no longer a member of the European Union. To register for local government elections EU citizens must complete an ITR Form or register on-line at <a href="www.gov.uk/register-to-vote">www.gov.uk/register-to-vote</a>. They cannot vote at ordinary UK Parliamentary elections. If they wish to vote at European Parliamentary elections they can no longer do so in the UK they will have to vote in their Home member state.

Note: The Gambia is now back in the Commonwealth as of Friday 22 June 2018. The Maldives removed with effect from May 2017.

<sup>\*</sup>Please note that citizens of Cyprus & Malta are already eligible to vote at all elections under their membership of the Commonwealth.