## LIST OF COUNTRIES WHOSE CITIZENS ARE ELIGIBLE TO VOTE

United Kingdom - including England, Scotland, Wales, The Channel Isles, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland. Also the Irish Republic - Southern Ireland/Eire. Can vote at **all** types of elections.

## **COMMONWEALTH COUNTRIES**

Antigua and Barbuda Jamaica St Vincent and the Australia Kenya Grenadines

The Bahamas Kiribati Samoa
Bangladesh Lesotho Seychelles
Barbados Malawi Sierra Leone
Belize Malaysia Singapore
Botswana Malta Solomon Islands
Brunei Darussalam Mauritius South Africa

Brunei Darussalam Mauritius South Africa
Cameroon Mozambique Sri Lanka
Canada Namibia Swaziland

Cyprus Nauru Tanzania (United Republic of)

Dominica New Zealand Tonga

Fiji Islands Nigeria Trinidad and Tobago

The Gambia Pakistan Tuvalu
Ghana Papua New Guinea Uganda
Grenada Rwanda Vanuatu
Guyana St Kitts and Nevis Zambia
India St Lucia Zimbabwe

## **BRITISH DEPENDANT TERRITORIES**

Anguilla Monserrat
Bermuda Pitcairn Island
British Antarctic Territory St Helena

British Indian Ocean Territory St Helena dependencies (Ascension, Tristan da British Virgin Islands Cunha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich

Cayman Islands Islands)

Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands

Gibraltar

## **EUROPEAN UNION COUNTRIES**

Citizens of the European Union can vote at Local elections and European Parliamentary elections only.

Austria Latvia Romania Estonia Belgium Finland Slovakia Lithuania Bulgaria France Luxembourg Slovenia \*Malta Spain Croatia Germany Czech Republic Greece Netherlands Sweden

\*Cyprus Hungary Poland Denmark Italy Portugal

Citizens of the European Union are entitled to register to vote at local government elections as well as European parliamentary elections. They **cannot vote** at ordinary UK Parliamentary elections. To register for local government elections EU citizens must complete an ITR Form and a separate registration form (UC1) if they wish to vote at European Parliamentary elections in the UK rather than in their Home member state. This form is available from the Electoral Services at The Town Hall, The Parade, Epsom or Tel: 01372 732152

Note: The Gambia is now back in the Commonwealth as of Friday 22 June 2018. The Maldives removed with effect from May 2017.

<sup>\*</sup>Please note that citizens of Cyprus & Malta are already eligible to vote at all elections under their membership of the Commonwealth.