## **Elections in Epsom & Ewell**

This table shows you the various types of elections and when they are held.

Type of election	Electoral area	Seats or vacancies	How often	When	Last held	Next
Borough Council	13 wards	3 per ward*	Every 4 years	First Thursday in May	7 May 2015	May 2019
Surrey County Council	5 divisions	1 per division	Every 4 years	First Thursday in May	2 May 2013	May 2017
UK Parliamentary	Epsom & Ewell constituency (also covers parts of Reigate & Banstead and Mole Valley)	1 per constituency	Every 5 years^	Thursdays	7 May 2015	May 2020
European Parliamentary	South East region	10 in region◊	Every 5 years	Thursdays in May/June (votes counted on Sundays after all European polls have closed)	22 May 2014	May/June 2019
Police & Crime Commissioner	Surrey Police Area – County of Surrey	1 in area	Every 4 years	First Thursday in May	New for 15 November 2012**	5 May 2016

Epsom & Ewell has no Town or Parish councils.

## Note:

<sup>\*</sup> As from 2003, Auriol ward will have two seats not three.

<sup>♦</sup> As from June 2004, number of seats was reduced from 11 to 10.

<sup>^</sup> After the 2010 Parliamentary election the Government announced changes to legislation and brought in fixed terms for Parliamentary elections.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The first elections for Police & Crime Commissioners were held on 15 November 2012. Elections held after 2012 will be held on the first Thursday in May every 4 years.