Stylesheets are not available for this website in your specific browser


Contact us online
Tel: 01372 732000
 07950 080202

Epsom & Ewell Borough Council
Town Hall
The Parade
KT18 5BY


Follow us onand
When buildings are ‘listed’ they are placed on statutory lists of buildings of ‘special architectural or historic interest’ compiled by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990, on advice from English Heritage.

English Heritage is the main national body tasked with identifying and recommending ‘listing’ of the most important buildings.

Listed buildings are graded to show their relative importance:

  • Grade I buildings are those of exceptional interest.
  • Grade II* buildings are particularly important and of more than special interest.
  • Grade II buildings are of special interest, warranting every effort to preserve them.

In Epsom & Ewell, there are currently 325 entries on the English Heritage statutory list, covering over 400 buildings. There are also locally listed buildings that have formal recognition in the planning system as being of local historic importance. Epsom & Ewell currently has 72 buildings identified on the local list.

Listed buildings have statutory protection and are subject to planning control. The demolition of, or any internal or external alterations to, a listed building are subject to Listed Building Consent which must be obtained from the Local Planning Authority.

It is always advisable to contact the Conservation Officer for advice as ancillary buildings and structures may be considered to fall within the "curtilage" of a listed building making them subject to the same controls.

You can find out whether or not a property is listed by using our online mapping system.

page updated: Friday, 26 June 2015 © Epsom & Ewell Borough Council 2016